The Town and Commune of Małogoszcz – general information
The town of Malogoszcz is situated in the Świętokrzyskie Province, in the Jędrzejowski District and it is a seat of the administrative authorities of the Commune of Małogoszcz, the main centre of the economic and cultural life of the nearest region. It is located in the picturesque valley surrounded by the hills Babinek, Grabki, Spinkowa Mountain and Krzyżowa Mountain on the western ends of the Holy Cross Mountains in the Przedborsko-Małogoskie Range.
Founded in the early Piast times on the crossroads of the main trade routes, in the Middle Ages already a castellan’s fortified town, Małogoszcz was an important economic and strategic centre. The oldest notes about the town come from the Archbishop of Gniezno’s Bull dated from the year 1136. In the XII century, Małogoszcz was already an administratively significant town, thus its beginnings should be dated back to much earlier times. In 1408, king Władysław Jagiełło confirmed the municipal rights for Małogoszcz on the German law and granted the town the royal coat of arms, which is still visible today over the entrance to the parish church’s vestibule, next to the Jagiellonian eagle and the Vasa’s coat of arms. The mayor and the town council used the armorial seal until 1869, the moment of losing the municipal rights. On 24 February 1863, one of the greatest fights of the “January Uprising” took place, the Battle of Małogoszcz. Insurrectionary graves situated on the local historic graveyard commemorate this event and the patriotism of the insurrectionists.
On 1 January 1996, Małogoszcz regained the municipal rights.
The main square, turned into the green square, with the streets running out of the corners is the central point of the town. Near the square, the Renaissance parish Church of the Assumption rises up. It was built in the years 1591-1595 and rebuilt by the end of the XVIII century and in the second half of the XIX century. Małogoszcz is the interchange of the four roads, from Kielce, Końskie, Włoszczowa and Jędrzejów. In the northern part of the commune, about 2 km from the town, the Cement Plant “Małogoszcz” (now Lafarge Cement PLC) is located. It was privatised in the second half of the 1990s by the French concern of the Lafarge group known throughout the world. A railway line Kielce-Częstochowa opened in 1911 and electrified in the years 1973-1974 runs in the north of the town. The Cement Plant “Małogoszcz” joins it by means of the siding. About 6 km on the north-west of Małogoszcz, Lime Plant Lhoist in Bukowa is situated.
The interesting and rich history of the town as well as a scenic-varied location make Małogoszcz and its surroundings a frequent tourist and recreation expeditions destination. The areas for the excursions are situated in the region of Bocheniec by Łososina and Biała Nida Rivers. A reservoir of the area of around 2.8 hectare in Zakrucze makes a great scenic attraction, a habitat of many different species of birds and a wonderful place for fishing. Two holiday resorts “Wierna” and “Ptaszyniec” in Bocheniec offer a full comfort of rest. On account of the particularly charming landscape, bicycle trips are very popular among both tourists and local people. The most popular bicycle routes are Małogoszcz – Ludwinów – Kozłów – Wiśnicz – Lasochów – Żarczyce – Mieronice – Małogoszcz, Małogoszcz – Mieronice – Karsznice – Wola Tesserowa – Rembieszyce – Nowa Wieś – Bocheniec – Dołki – Małogoszcz and Małogoszcz – Bocheniec – Zakrucze (the reservoir) – Małogoszcz.
In our commune there are many historic churches like the late Renaissance Church of the Assumption in Małogoszcz, the XVI century small Saint Bishop Stanisław’s Church on Babinek Hill, the wooden parish Saint Paul and Peter’s Church in Rembieszyce (XVIII century), the All Saints’ Parish Church in Złotniki and the parish Church Complex of the Blessed Virgin Mary’s Birth in Kozłów.
Since 1994 the Society of Friends of Małogoszcz has acted in our town. It deals with collecting mementoes, materials and information about the history of Małogoszcz and the nearest region to store them in the local Exhibition Room. The local community centre is also very active in the town. It is the mainstay of the communal cultural events and it organises the annual “Days of Małogoszcz” taking place at the beginning of June. At present, a third-division football club MKS “Wierna” Małogoszcz is also very successful. It was quickly promoted from the district division to the third division and next to the Cement Plant “Małogoszcz” it is the main showpiece of the commune.
Well-developed road network, favourable location and the proximity of the provincial capital make the commune attractive for tourists and future investors.
Urząd Miasta i Gminy w Małogoszczu
|niedziela, 21 grudnia 2014
|355 dzień roku
Honoraty, Seweryny, Tomasza